Category Archives: Diseases

Absolute Case-Based Neurology Review: An Essential Q & A Study Guide

Read Online: Book Description: This concise review book provides a set of evidence-based and up-to-date study questions that demonstrate knowledge of common neurological diseases. Presented in a case-based format, each chapter includes several questions that are intended for medical students, residents rotating through neurology, and neurologists looking for study sources. Filling a need for a […]

When Breath Becomes Air

Read Online: Book Description: #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the […]

COVID-19 and the heart: What do we know so far?

SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, affects various organs and systems in the body, including the cardiovascular system. What do we currently know about its impact on the heart? This feature looks at the latest research and reveals what cardiologists have observed in the hospital setting. SARS-CoV-2 has exhibited the ability to impact more than […]

The Rigveda. A Guide

Read Online: Book Description: The Rigveda is a monumental text in both world religion and world literature, yet outside a small band of specialists it is little known. Composed in the latter half of the second millennium BCE, it stands as the foundational text of what would later be called Hinduism. The text consists of […]

FIGHT BACK: Beat the Coronavirus

Read Online: Book Description: FIGHT BACK: Beat the Coronavirus separates fact from hype and offers practical, proven strategies and hope for conquering the COVID-19 pandemic. World renowned physician and author Dr. Chauncey Crandall outlines the latest health information on how to protect yourself, family, friends and community from Coronavirus, how to stop the spread of infection, […]

Some COVID-19 patients have a higher risk of bleeding

Excessive blood clotting is a recognized feature of severe COVID-19. But a new study suggests that some hospitalized patients may also be vulnerable to bleeding, which is associated with an increased risk of death. After an injury, clotting prevents dangerous loss of blood. Blood clots, or “thrombi,” can also block blood vessels, however, with potentially […]

What are the treatment options for sciatica pain?

There are various treatment options available to ease sciatica pain. These include over-the-counter (OTC) medications, creams, exercises, massage, and surgery. Sciatica, or sciatic nerve pain, is a nonspecific term that describes a variety of leg or back symptoms. It may refer to a sharp or burning pain that radiates down the legs from the buttocks. […]

What are some of the best exercises for meralgia paresthetica?

Meralgia paresthetica involves the compression of a nerve in the upper leg. This causes tingling, numbness, and pain in the outer thigh. Stretching and strengthening exercises may help release the nerve, thereby easing the symptoms of meralgia parasthetica. Below, we describe what meralgia paresthetica is and what causes it. We also outline some standard treatments […]

What is causing this pain in my back?

Back pain is a common reason for absence from work and for seeking medical treatment. It can be uncomfortable and debilitating. It can result from injury, activity and some medical conditions. Back pain can affect people of any age, for different reasons. As people get older, the chance of developing lower back pain increases, due […]

What to know about breast cancer

Breast cancer is the most common invasive cancer in women and the second leading cause of cancer death in women after lung cancer. Advances in screening and treatment for breast cancer have improved survival rates dramatically since 1989. According to the American Cancer Society (ACS), there are more than 3.1 million breast cancer survivors in […]