Image default
Healthline Physical Health

Gluten foods: List of what to avoid and alternatives

People with celiac disease need to avoid foods that contain gluten. Other people may do so because they have sensitivities or intolerances to this group of proteins.

Below, anyone who is on a gluten-free diet or who aims to reduce their intake of gluten can find lists of foods to avoid and alternatives to consider.

Visit for gluten-free diet list….

Foods containing gluten 

People understandably associate gluten with grains, but a range of other foods, drinks, and products such as supplements can contain it.

Grains that contain gluten

  • wheat
  • rye
  • barley
  • triticale, a hybrid of wheat and rye
  • seitan, which is often used as a meat substitute
  • wheat varieties and derivatives, such as: spelt, durum, couscous, semolina, farina, farro, kamut, einkorn, wheat berries, bulgur, wheat bran, wheat starch, wheat germ, emmer, and graham flour

Foods that usually contain gluten

  • breads, including bagels, flatbreads, and pita
  • pastas and some other noodles
  • cakes, crackers, and biscuits
  • pies and pastries
  • some breakfast cereals
  • breadcrumbs and coatings
  • croutons
  • many meat substitutes
  • malts, such as malt extract, syrup, flavoring, or vinegar
  • brewer’s yeast

Food that may contain gluten

Check the list of ingredients or ask at a restaurant before consuming:

  • french fries
  • gravies and sauces
  • salad dressings, marinades, and vinegars
  • soups
  • processed meats
  • soy sauce
  • potato or tortilla chips
  • bars and similar snacks
  • cereals and granolas
  • stuffings
  • egg dishes in restaurants

Alcoholic beverages

Alcoholic drinks that contain gluten include:
…………………. …………………. Continue Reading …………………. ………………….

Related posts

COVID-19: Which vaccines are effective against the delta variant?


What is this pain in the back of my head?


What to know about mental health among transgender individuals


Leave a Comment