Image default
Healthline Physical Health

Is mayonnaise gluten free? How to find gluten-free mayo or make your own at home

Although traditional mayo typically contains no gluten, some grocery store varieties do not state this on their labels.

Mayonnaise, or “mayo”, is a thick and creamy condiment that people commonly add to sandwiches, salads, burgers, and dips.

Sometimes, however, the product labeling on mayo products is not clear on whether they are suitable for people following a gluten-free diet.

This article explores what ingredients traditional mayo consists of, how to make gluten-free mayo at home, and what to look out for when shopping for gluten-free mayo.

What is in traditional mayo?

Food manufacturers produce traditional mayonnaise by slowly adding oil to raw egg yolks and adding an acid, such as vinegar or lemon juice. This creates an emulsion comprising around 79% fatTrusted Source.

Store varieties of mayonnaise contain binding agents and preservatives that extend its life. They may also contain pasteurized eggs, which can help these products keep for longer.

There are many popular mayonnaise variations. Using different oils, acids, mustards, herbs, and spices can change its flavor profile considerably.

About gluten

Gluten refers to proteins found naturally in cereals such as wheat, barley, rye, and spelt.

Over recent decades, the number of people who suspect they have gluten sensitivity has risen. Research suggests around 1% of the populationTrusted Source are affected by celiac disease, the most severe form of gluten sensitivity.

Eating foods containing gluten, such as bread, pasta, cereals, baked goods, and beverages, including beer, triggers an immune response in individuals with celiac disease.

This immune reaction can cause inflammation and damage to the small intestine.

Other symptoms of celiac disease and gluten sensitivity include:

With a growing awareness of gluten sensitivity, more people are choosing to follow a gluten-free diet. There is also a wider choice of gluten-free foods available to buy.

Can people following a gluten-free diet eat mayo?

When it comes to mayo, its traditional ingredients are usually gluten free.

However, according to the Gluten Intolerance Group, those with celiac disease should avoid mayonnaise made using malt vinegar, as it derives from barley, a gluten-containing grain.

Mayonnaise can also become contaminated with glutenTrusted Source during production.

Cross-contamination can also occur once a jar is open. For example, reinserting a knife into a jar of mayo might allow breadcrumbs into the pot, which contaminates it with a small amount of gluten. To avoid this problem, a person may consider buying mayo in a squeezable bottle.

Research has found that people with celiac disease should limit their daily gluten intake to no more than 10–50 milligramsTrusted Source.

How to find gluten-free mayo

Most food stores now have a dedicated “free-from” aisle where shoppers can find gluten-free foods. ………………. ………………. Continue Reading ………………. ……………….

Related posts

What does it mean when we dream?

knowledgeisle

Causes and treatments for itchy feet

knowledgeisle

Does the weirdness of dreams help keep the brain flexible?

knowledgeisle

Leave a Comment